Computer Science student, web professional

Nov 11

As we shared around the room the various organizations that participants come from, I was able to clearly see why each would be interested in organizing as well as why I would be interested in connecting with them. Joint action would mean bigger messages, bigger targets, and bigger results.
One aspect I took away from today was that organizing doesn’t typically happen in Republican affiliations. I found this an interesting thought because why not. What is it about the issues organizers support to be carried forward not those of Republicans. I am getting a bit ahead of myself. Let’s finish the day.
Fundamentals of Direct Action Organizing opened up the training portion of the week. It provided a nice spectrum from direct service to direct action organizing. I the middle of the spectrum was education and research. I liked this! I thought we could provide the education and research to doers in the organizations and that releases time for organizing in the larger scale. I ultimately would like to be able to see a group of rank and file members supporting each other. Other rank and file members would also be used for actions outside the day-to-day advocate work.
Understanding the Relations of Power was eye-opening. I never put a lot of technical thought into how power fluctuates and why. I also questioned the activity given without a lot of instruction and preparation on why we would to the activity in real life.
I enjoyed being able to identify why and how you would choose and issue to organize around. I was pleased to see I chose the ultimate one that was sellable and was the one they wanted us to ‘organize’ around.
The end of the evening finished with small groups and telling of story.
What I have seen throughout today is that the trainers give you some points but don’t actually give you the skills to perform the requests. I am not bought into this type of training and question it. I think this leads into why I take a step back periodically to see where the group is going and what this is going to.
I anticipate the coming days to see where the training goes and what we get to be exposed to. I hope we dig in deep and get some hard skills to continue back in our own organizations.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

