Computer Science student, web professional

The evening of May 30th, my instructor passed along an article that Google would not longer be supporting the Google Translate API. After accessing my tranlsation application, the result 0 (zero) was returned instead of the translation. This was a truly sad occurance for me. I was truly excited about my application.

I pushed forward and decided to present on my application anyway during class. In the meantime, I did a bit of searching and found a potential solution through Microsoft’s Translate Array Method. I will doing further testing with this software. If I am successful in implementing a new translation api via Microsoft, I will modify the look-and-feel for a funner environment.

Microsoft TranslateArray Method: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff512407.aspx. I’m off to create a bing id so that I can access the method.

Comments on: "Google Translate API – Terminated" (1)

  1. I ended up going with this mehtod of Microsoft’s translation service: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ff512407.aspx.

    After much trial and error, I was found refuse in this site on how to do it: http://www.viawindowslive.com/Articles/Translator/GettingStartedwithMicrosoftTranslator.aspx.

    I had questions about what the ‘response’ was actually holding and found out you can use the response object to send output to the client. I figured this, but wasn’t exactly clear.

    I also had a question about callback which was being called from the windows object via the url to perform the translation. I never was able to clarify exactly what windows.callback is.

    Lastly, once the translation was taking place, when the variable was passed the URL it was encoded. When I tried to output that text the characters were not represented correctly. I was able to fix this and represent the romanian characters accurately by adding meta data tag which I found at: http://webdesign.about.com/od/localization/l/blhtmlcodes-ro.htm.

    To access the translation application visit, http://www.stan-wood.info/apps/translate/AutoTranslatePost.php.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

